Holocaust Museum Houston Digital Newsletter November 2015


Anticipating Our 20th Year

Executive Director Kelly J. Zúñiga, Ed.D.

What an honor it is to serve as chair of Holocaust Museum Houston and to share my goals with you for this milestone year. January will usher in the year of The Butterfly Project and our 20th anniversary celebration! As a founding Board

Spector-Warren Fellowship and Max M. Kaplan Summer Institute, where current and future teachers learn methods to impart the vital lessons of the Holocaust, HMH is at the forefront of Holocaust education. Our Museum is one of only four accredited museums in Houston and one of only four percent of museums in the country that carry this distinction. Our “Guardian of the Human Spirit” luncheon on Nov. 2, honoring Velva G. and H. Fred Levine and featuring New York Times columnist and best-selling author David Brooks, was a tremendous success, with almost 1,100 attendees. Our upcoming 20th anniversary highlights include the opening of “The Butterfly Project,” to be exhibited in the Galleria and Neiman Marcus in March 2016, accompanied by a coffee-table book picturing many of the 1.5 million butterflies handmade by students around the country and abroad to remember the 1.5 million children who perished. We also look forward to our anniversary celebration and presentation of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Moral Courage Award in the spring. We are ever grateful to our survivors who inspire us daily to continue our urgent mission. Sadly, we must prepare ourselves for a day when they are no longer with us and we must become the standard-bearers of their vital message. The Board also is thrilled to be in the planning stages of a major expansion of our campus which will allow us more exhibition space to teach not only the lessons of the Holocaust but also information about other genocides and human rights as well as make a clear call to action to challenge visitors to make the right moral choices in life. I, the Board and the staff thank you for your generous support of Holocaust Museum Houston.

Editor Ira D. Perry

Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center 5401 Caroline Street | Houston, TX 77004

TEL: 713-942-8000 FAX: 713-942-7953 info@hmh.org

Holocaust Museum Houston is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums and is a member of the Houston Museum District Association. HMH Bearing Witness is the official newsletter of Holocaust Museum Houston.

Gail Klein

member 27 years ago, I have continued my deep involvement with the Museum. My mother, Renee Danziger, of blessed memory and to whom I dedicate my chairpersonship, was a survivor of Auschwitz and Bergen- Belsen. Having recently visited Auschwitz- Birkenau, I am now even more passionate to further HMH’s powerful mission.

© 2015, All rights reserved.

Board of Trustees FY15-16

Chair Gail Klein

Chair–Elect Gary Markowitz

Vice Chairs ADMINISTRATION Eileen Weisman DEVELOPMENT Benjamin Warren FACILITIES Butch Mach EDUCATION Jerry Rochman OUTREACH Cheryl Golub SURVIVOR SERVICES Hyman Penn, M.D.

Secretary Jennifer B. Stockel

Treasurer Daniel P. Gordon

Immediate Past Chair Mark Mucasey

We are indeed fortunate to have such a dedicated staff under the leadership of Executive Director Dr. Kelly J. Zúñiga along with Managing Director and Director of Public Programs Tamara Savage, as well as a devoted Board of Trustees and Advisors. It is hard to imagine that almost 20 years have passed since our Museum opened. HMH has impacted so vitally the 2 million students and adults who have entered its doors. That our world continues to be challenged by antisemitism, racism and terrorism is a stimulus that reinforces our zeal to achieve our mission. From life-changing programs such as “All Behaviors Count,” where students learn the dangers of bullying, to workshops such as The Warren Fellowship,

Ex-Officio Kelly J. Zúñiga, Ed.D. Executive Director | Holocaust Museum Houston Rick Kaplan Chair | Holocaust Museum Houston Foundation

Trustees Crystal E. Ashby David P. Bell, Ed.D. Tali Blumrosen Nancy S. Dinerstein

Michael Morgan Corey F. Powell Kim Ruth Tracey Shappro Anna Steinberger, Ph.D.

Steve Estrin Heidi Gerger Laura Jaramillo David Lavine Nancy Li Edith Mincberg

Alberta Totz Haya Varon Inna Wizig

Feedback Comments and suggestions are welcome and should be submitted to HMH Bearing Witness to news@hmh.org. Press Requests news@hmh.org


Made with